FoodCorps Service Members Coming to Northeast Georgia!

FoodCorps is a nationwide team of AmeriCorps leaders who connect kids to real food. 
FoodCorps service members, Sumer Ladd & Ian Rossiter, will begin a year of service working with the NEGA Farm to School program to teach hands-on lessons about food and nutrition, build and tend school gardens and teach cooking lessons so kids can taste the fresh food they’ve grown.

FoodCorpMeet FoodCorps Service Member: Sumer Ladd

I am originally from California and came to Georgia to study Agricultural Communication at the University of Georgia.  After graduating from college, I joined the Food Corps and looking forward to working with the Northeast Georgia Farm to School Program. I am passionate about agriculture and nutrition and sharing my love for food and the farm. I am thrilled to have the opportunity to work with the great students, parents, teachers, school staff and farmers in Habersham County.

I am most excited to share this experience with the community and work towards growing up healthy together!

Meet FoodCorps Service Member: Ian Rossiter

 I grew up on St. Simons Island, GA where the majority of my family lives. I graduated from Furman University with a degree in Biology, and I have spent the better part of post university life living and working on the island of Eleuthera in the Bahamas at the Cape Eleuthera Institute/Island School. I began working with the institute’s permaculture research and education program, which is where I had my “ah ha” moment… I want to be an ecologist and educator that address our ever-changing social, health and economic issues. I am incredibly excited and grateful for the opportunity to work in with the Northeast Georgia Farm to School Program. Although being in the Bahamas was fun, I can’t think of anything more meaningful than being back doing the work I love in the state I was born and raised in. I have much to learn about the food of Georgia, and I cannot wait to begin learning from all of you!

Leave a Reply

